The Whirly Girl

Autumnal Ambivalence

Posted on: October 14, 2010

Unlike many, I don’t love fall.  At least, I don’t love all the typical fall-y things that are so popular this time of year.  I don’t like pumpkin spice lattes.  Pumpkins are not actually in season yet where I live–watermelon was offered in my CSA share this week.  The leaves don’t really change color here.  October means eight more months til summer vacation and parent-teacher conferences.

There are, however, a few things that make this time of year kind of nice deep in the heart of Texas, though they may not be as traditional as an apple pie-scented candle:

  • It’s cool enough in the mornings to drive to work with my windows down.
  • Our electricity bill is smaller.
  • Lettuce is in season again.
  • On that note, we  get CSA shares again, after several months without.
  • It’s finally not too hot to cook soup.

Happy fall, whether you enjoy it with lettuce or pumpkin muffins.

2 Responses to "Autumnal Ambivalence"

Cause pumpkin spice lattes are ga-ross…

Funny. My latest blog post was about how I have finally decided that Fall is my favorite season after years of debate. It does not include a picture of a pumpkin spiced latte, however.

Leave a Reply

