The Whirly Girl

It’s August.

Posted on: August 4, 2010

I bought my first basket of pears at the farmers market yesterday and that can only mean one thing:  Summer vacation is over.  A new school year is here.

I’ve been contemplating how I will do life this school year, primarily because it will look slightly different from years past.  For the first time since graduating from college, I’m not working full-time.  No, we’re not having a baby and Scott didn’t change jobs.  The part-time teaching is an attempt to do several things: maintain my sanity, begin weaning our budget off of two incomes, make time for more homemade/hippy endeavors, etc..  Truthfully, maintaining sanity was the reason I initially decided to take the part-time plunge, with the others resulting naturally from the decision.  And, truthfully, it could go very badly–but I don’t think it will.

Lots of things made part-time work even a possibility, namely working at a small, private school that is willing to exercise flexibility and a marriage in which both spouses are generally okay with the other doing what they want (it helps that what we want basically includes him playing poker with the boys once a month and splurging on the occasional steak, and me creating more time in the day to make homemade cheese and grow tomatoes for pizza).  So, two weeks from now I’m starting the experiment of splitting my days more evenly between school and home, and we’ll see how it goes.  Until then I’ll be remembering how to write a lesson plan and eating all those pears.

1 Response to "It’s August."

Hi, I followed a link from your comment on the Radical Homemakers’ website because I wanted to connect with you since you’re in Waco. We live in Cleburne, TX now and we’re really interested in the concepts written in the book. I look forward to following your blog. I’m so ready for this radical lifestyle change! My mind is there already, for the most part. 🙂 Looking forward to connecting with you.

Leave a Reply

