The Whirly Girl

Flashback

Posted on: June 25, 2010

I live in my college town.  Generally speaking, I’m not sure how common that is or isn’t, five years post-graduation, but it’s  not that unusual around here.  Aside from a few basketball games a year, I don’t have much to do with my beloved alma mater.  (I remember having grand illusions of donating to scholarship funds once upon a time, but for now my monthly student loan payments will have to do.)

Bottom line, I had to go on campus yesterday and it was weird.  Weird to be in a place where I spent every waking moment for four years, before trekking off into the real world without a look back.  Weird because I was older than the summer school students meandering around.  Just weird.

My college experience had its ups and downs, but truly I have no complaints.  It gave me a degree I use, a seminary student that eventually became my husband and, oddly enough, a town I came to call home.  I just don’t have to spend time on campus to acknowledge all those things.

So heres to college and heres to my real world life, too, because it’s so much better.

Leave a Reply

