The Whirly Girl

Wrist Warmers with Self Striping Yarn

Posted on: January 7, 2010

I finally learned how to knit with three needles last month and here is the, admittedly blurry, result:

I used this pattern from this website that I recently stumbled across (and really, really like!) and self striping Big Mexiko wool yarn.  My aunt Myra gave me this yarn about six years ago, when I first discovered knitting, and it sat patiently in my knitting basket until last month.  I am so pleased with the result.  There a few holes and rough patches, especially in the first one I made, but now I feel like I know what I’m doing with three needles.  I started another pair in grey last weekend and will attempt the version with a thumb this time around.  I have to say the pictures of the first pattern drew me to it: I have that same sweater, in grey, and drink that brand of kombucha.  When she saw the pattern and pictures, one friend said, “It’s you!”

I wasn’t sure how warm wrist warmers would actually be since your fingers aren’t covered but I’ve discovered they really are useful, especially when you’re typing or doing anything else that requires your fingers.  I’m predicting I’ll wear them at work a lot as I travel between my six classrooms of varying temperatures.

2 Responses to "Wrist Warmers with Self Striping Yarn"

Those look so fun – and cozy! I am impressed!

(Irrelevantly, I love the ring on your finger, too.)

Stalking you again. I love the knitting website. I wanted to thank you for it. Jen

Leave a Reply

