The Whirly Girl

Review: Tropical Tradition’s Gold Label Virgin Coconut Oil

Posted on: August 25, 2009

I recently received a sample of Golden Label Virgin Coconut Oil from Tropical Traditions to try and review.  Being able to try this product has been most helpful in my quest to learn more about the benefits of coconut oil and incorporate it into our diet. 

I never thought I’d say this about oil but, “Yum!”  This coconut oil even smells delicious.  I’m finding that using it in place of vegetable oil or other fat in your everyday recipes is the best way to consume it on a regular basis.  The first recipe I used it in was my standard brownie recipe.  So good!  It gave the brownies a mild coconut flavor and the texture was perfect.  Next time I think I’ll add some coconut flakes and nuts as well.  I really liked that the flavor wasn’t overwhelming, but definitely there.

This past weekend I used the coconut oil in my pancake recipe.  I was so impressed with the flavor!  Because I only needed 2 tablespoons in 2-3 serving recipe the flavor was very, very subtle–just enough to actually improve the taste of already good pancakes without being obviously coconut-y.

As an experiment, I’ve also drizzle coconut oil over blueberries with plain yogurt for breakfast to make sure I got a daily dose.  Because coconut oil does solidify at 77 degrees F, it of course began hardening up.  The texture didn’t bother me since plain yogurt isn’t always perfectly satin smooth and I really like the coconut taste it added.  I think the trick is to pour it over something cold, like fruit and yogurt, in a very thin stream so you don’t end up with big chunks of oil in your breakfast.

I am thoroughly pleased with this product and plan on continuing to use it in my kitchen.

If you are interested in ordering your own jar of yummy virgin coconut oil, or any of their other products, you can do so by visiting Tropical Traditions website here.  If you are a first-time TT customer and would like to receive a free copy of their book Virgin Coconut Oil: How It Has Changed People’s Lives and How It Can Change Yours!, select “referred by a friend” when asked how you heard of them when placing your order and enter ID number 5356767.

Leave a Reply

