The Whirly Girl

Nuts for Coconuts

Posted on: July 22, 2009

My newest domestic experiment is coconut oil.  That’s right, coconut oil.  My mom recently passed The Coconut Oil Miracle by Bruce Fife on to me.  So as to completely jump on the bandwagon before I really learned anything about it, I bought some coconut oil at the grocery store and started using it in my kitchen.  Then read the book.  According to the book, this miracle product of nature does everything from helping you lose weight to clearing up your acne to preventing heart disease and cancer.  Well, sign me up for all of the above, if that’s even possible. 

My dad had a heart attack in his early 40s, so we were very well-versed in every heart-healthy edible option from that point on.  Coconuts and their by-products did not fall in that category.  I actually felt guilty everytime I ate coconut, which I happen to love, and envisioned my arteries becoming more and more clogged with each bite.  Yes, I had a very active, 14-year-old imagination.  And chose to indulge and feel guilty, rather than exercise restraint and lose the guilt.

Well, according to this book, the fat from coconut oil actually doesn’t stick to your arteries, but is immediately processed by your liver and turned into energy.  All that guilt for nothing.  It does a host of other things as well, which you’ll have to read about for yourself.

I am rather intrigued by the whole idea and have decided to give it a shot.  For now, I’m using coconut oil in place of other fats in the kitchen and using it as a skin moisterizer, as well.  I’ll keep you posted on how it’s working.

Leave a Reply

