The Whirly Girl

Kitchen Odds and Ends

Posted on: July 10, 2009

My hands-on project the past week or so have fallen into the edible category.  I am knitting furiously on a satchel bag, but it doesn’t count til it’s finished.  So yesterday I played around some in the kitchen for some instant gratification.

On the way to my parents’ last weekend we stumbled across the Wimberley Brewing Company & Brew Pub.  Scott brews beer as a hobby, so this was of high interest to 50% of the passengers in the car and we stopped to go in.  While the husband was becoming BFFs with the pub’s brew master, I ordered the most amazing thing: real ginger ale.  It was like drinking a gingerbread man cookie.  Seriously.  I want to make it for my very own.  There are a lot of recipes out there, but I decided to start with the one from Nourishing Traditions.  It has to sit a room temperature for a few days before drinking; if it turns out I’ll share the recipe.

We make a big pot of coffee every morning.  After we’ve each had a cup and Scott takes some in a thermos to work, there is usually about a cup leftover.  I love iced coffee, especially when it’s 107 degrees outside, so I’ve played around with making my own using the morning leftovers.  Then my sister tried this recipe from Smitten Kitchen, so yesterday I tried it too.  So should you–very nice, indeed.

Then I remembered I had some cookie dough leftover from our Fourth of July dessert, so I baked it into little hearts and dipped them in unsweetened chocolate.  The taste of sweet cookie and unsweetened chocolate go together perfectly.  I think they’d be great served alongside coffee, iced or otherwise.

IMG_0655

1 Response to "Kitchen Odds and Ends"

Can’t wait to hear about your ginger ale! The cookies are lovely as I am sure the satchel will be.

Mom

Leave a Reply

