The Whirly Girl

An open letter.

Posted on: May 28, 2009

Dear ’08-’09 school year,

Our time together is swiftly coming to a close and I feel like a few words are necessary.  You have easily been my hardest year of teaching yet.  I was losing sleep over you before you even began.  I gave you weekends, evenings out with my husband and friends, and many, many tears that I didn’t let you see.  At first I thought this relationship would be an unbalanced one, but around Christmas I think we came to a mutual understanding and things have been better since then.  For that, I am grateful.

You were a year of firsts for me: first year away from my beloved “first school,” first time to teach history, first time to balance home with work.  You have taught me many things; primarily, that nothing is more important than home and that I am not a history teacher.

When our time together ends tomorrow at noon, please know that I have learned from you and appreciated you, especially now that you are over.    There are other things that need my attention for the next few months, such as an anniversary vacation to the beach, my garden, two stacks of books for fun, possibly a trip to meet baby Henry, the yet-to-be-learned skill of canning, my sister’s wedding plans, and the crafting of my ’09-’10 school bag.

Thank you for the great co-workers and new friends.  Thank you for my student that told me he loves history and the class that cheered when they discovered I’d be their Latin teacher again next year.  Thank you for understanding that our relationship was a temporary one.

Take care,

Candace

 

Leave a Reply

