The Whirly Girl

The old and the new

Posted on: March 15, 2009

There is a handmake quilt on all four of the beds in my parents house.  My grandfather make the dining room table I had in my first post-college house.  My dad made my first desk.  In my closet hangs a bridesmaids dress my seamstress mother made for me less than two years ago–never mind all the clothes she made during my growing up years.  My bottles of fingernail polish are stored in a basket made by my sister  for my birthday when she was in middle school. 

Needless to say, I feel like I have some catching up to do.  As I dabbled in, and then plunged into, the task of building a home and life away from my parents, I have found myself more and more inclined to make the things that create a home.  I also find that I value more and more the household objects that have been passed down to my own new household.  So, this blog was created as a way to share my attempts at crafting a home and preserving those things that have graced homes in the past, and now, present.

Tags:

Leave a Reply

