The Whirly Girl

Thank you, $5 Dinners!

Posted on: May 13, 2009

I discovered $5 Dinners back in December and have been an avid reader ever since.  This week Erin helped save our Tuesday night.  Each Tuesday my husband and I host the church small group we’re apart of and lead.  As time as gone on our group has come to be made up of predominantly college students.  We both love to cook, and my husband especially loves to host, and we feel particularly inclined to feed our college students well.  I challenge myself to stay within the grocery budget already set for the two of us, even though once a week it’s closer to ten around the table.  Usually we are racing against the clock to get at least one of us home from work in time to get a good meal together (I felt guilty the time we served frozen lasagna). 

This week we served this $5 Dinner recipe.  I used a combination of whole wheat linguini and egg noodles, because that’s what I had.  I doubled it to serve our Tuesday night group and assembled it this morning.  After getting home from work I topped it with the cheese and baked.  I am a fan because it was a one-dish dinner that included vegetables, could be made ahead, and didn’t have to bake too long.  Thank you, $5 Dinners!

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

